Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Really, you may be the only one brave enough to ask.

Dear Readers,

Some of the hardest things to say include-

1. I am sorry

2. I was wrong

3. I love you.

Today’s post concerns something a little more important. I can’t go into the details but a situation at required I ask a question, and then another question and then another question and to follow up and ask more clarifying question and find out more information and then ask more questions. I have long had the nickname “Question Girl” and I wear it proudly. There are many ways to learn but I find that one is the most effective way for me to retain knowledge.

It occurred to me as this particular situation wrapped up, What would have happened if I didn’t ask that question which led us to resolution? Hopefully someone else would have done it but we don’t know.

So before you think, “gosh, this is a stupid question” “I can’t possibly ask that”

“what will they think about me if I ask” “will I seem stupid if I ask this question”

“Shouldn’t I already know this”

remember this story

This is a story about four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody and Nobody.  There was an important job to be done and Everybody was sure that Somebody would do it.  Anybody could have done it, but Nobody did it.  Somebody got angry about that, because it was Everybody’s job.  Everybody thought Anybody could do it, but Nobody realized that Everybody wouldn’t do it.  It ended up that Everybody blamed Somebody when Nobody did what Anybody could have.

So the important job was asking a question in this case. This is not so much about congratulating myself but let’s face it, (it is a little about that) it’s rather an opportunity to showcase the opportunity for YOU to always ask questions.

To paraphrase my acting teacher. “Be patient with yourself and be curious about the process” It constantly amazes me how that is good life advice too.

Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Really, you may be the only one brave enough to ask.

Think about it!

2 thoughts on “Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Really, you may be the only one brave enough to ask.

Leave a comment